Make your own free website on

1977 - North Champions Again

Chapter 20

Kildangan seemed to have a habit of drawing in intermediate finals, they did so in '66 and & '68 and again in & '76, but lost the replay on the latter occasion to Burgess. In the following years final they drew again, this time with Ballinahinch. Kildangan improved in the replay and won by 2-12 to 1-6. Seamus Hogan scored 0-8, Noel Seymour 2-1, Martin Healy 0-2, and Willie McGrath 0-1. Hogan and Seymour, together with Paddy Hayes and Jimmy Foley, were the Kildangan stars in the final. However, the team were not destined to repeat its 1971 success and succumbed to Eire Og, Annacarty in the county semi final.

North Champions, 1977:

David King (Rockfort), Tommy Collins (Urra), Jimmy Seymour (Loughourna), Jimmy Foley (Ballyhogan), Seamus Hill (Cloghprior), Owen Hogan (Dromineer), Seamus Hogan (Dromineer), Tony Kelly (Knight), Roger Gleeson (Johnstown), Paddy Hayes (Cloghprior), Martin Kelly (Knigh), Noel Seymour (Loughourna), Martin Healy (Knigh), Ollie Killeen (Monsea), Seamus Hogan (Urra), Willie McGrath (Dromineer), Pat Kelly (Puckaun), Jos Hogan (Urra), Colm Madden (Rockfort), Gerry Flynn (Rockview).




Cill An Daingin Abu
Last Updated

All images and content are copyright.