Make your own free website on

Kildangan Juniors 1944

Chapter 15

Kildangan won the North Tipperary junior title three years later, playing eight of the victorious Ballycommon team of 1941. Ballycommon and Loughourna had both amalgamated with Kildangan. Carney was now the only independent junior club in the parish. Carney also participated in the junior championship that year but fell to eventual finalists, Erin&s Hope (from Borrisokane and district). Kildangan played three matches on their path to the final of 1944:

At Nenagh, 2 July: Kildangan 8-4, Eire Og, Nenagh 1-1

At Nenagh, 24 Sept: Kildangan 4-7, Duharra 2-3

At Borrisokane, 5 Oct: Kildangan 8-4, Ballyskenagh 0-3.

The team was scheduled to meet Shallee at Nenagh in the semi-final on 29 October, but their opponents were disqualified for fielding an illegal player against Currabaha in an earlier round. As a result Kildangan went directly to the final against Erins Hope at Nenagh on 6 November 1944 and won by a margin of 5-2 to 3-4.

Kildangan, 1944: Paddy Seymour (Loughourna), Edmund Devaney (Crannagh), Willie Moloney (Crannagh), Timmy Moloney (Crannagh), Tom Collins (Ballyartella), Paddy Joe Collins (Ballyartella), Ned Gleeson (Ballydrennan), Bill Gleeson (Ballycommon), Paddy Harty (Ballyanny), Ned Harty (Ballyanny), Hugh Slattery (Loughourna), Paddy Griffin (Ballyvillane), Paddy Flannery (Castlesheela), Dave Morrissey (Prospect), Timmy Devaney (Ballycommon), Jimmy Kennedy (Puckaun).




Cill An Daingin Abu
Last Updated

All images and content are copyright.