Make your own free website on Tripod.com

www.kildangan.net.Banner.jpg

Kildangan The Early Years

Chapter 2

Killadangan,now the parish club, was formed at a meeting in Puckane school on Thursday 18 November 1915. The attendance was divided on the name for the new club : some favoured Carney; others wanted Ballycommon; a few wished to revive the old name, Knigh. Finally, John Blake, the Puckane publican, put a pound subscription on the table, suggested Killadangan, and this was agreed to.The club affiliated a junior team team the following season and had its first championship outing against Silvermines in July 1916.The game was played at Portroe and finished in a draw. But the replay at the Showgrounds, Nenagh, two months later, ended in controversy. The Nenagh Guardian of 16 September 1916 reported that fifeteen minutes from end a Silvermines player named Ryan was struck by a Killadangan man and started fighting. Ryan was ordered off by referee Frank McGrath of nenagh; Silvermines refused to continue and Killadangan were awarded the match. However, Killadangan were soundly thrashed by Toomevara in the next round. The Nenah Guardian of 7 October 1916 commented: " Killadangan's cheif fault was that on several occasions the Toomevara forwards were left uncovered".

Some of the men associated with the club in its early years included: Paddy Slattery of Lisduff, Tom McDonald, NT, of Puckane, "King" and "Guerins" McGrath of Cushmona, Jack Cleary of Urra, Tom Collins of Urra, Paddy Considine of Claree, tim Hogan of Ballycommon, Danny and Rody Meara of Booageelagh, and the Kellys of Ballyanny - Tim, ger and Jack. Paddy Slattery ( 1892-1958) was the father-figure of Killadangan Hurling during the 1920sand ' 30s. In a less formal era he was chairman, secretary, North Board delegate and selector all rolled into one. Paddy worked as an insurance agent in Nenagh and on summer evenings would cycle out to Hoctor's Field and sit puffing his pipe under "The Big Bush" watching his charges practise.

Killadangan did not affiliate a team in 1924 or 1925 in order to make way for Ballycommon .Carney also had a team playing in the junior championship during those years. Killadangan returned to play at junior level in 1926 and the following year contested the newly - inaugurated intermediate championship. Three years later the club combined with with neighboring Kilbarron to win that title. Killadangan - Kilbarron wore blue jerseys with a white sash, purchased by Mick Hanrahan of Monsea with the proceeds of a Sports Day at Ballycommon. Killadangan afterwards adopted their now familiar blue and gold colours.
Killadangans first apperance in a final was in the minor championship decider of 1925-6. The match was played at Capparoe on 10 July 1926 and was won in a decisive fashion by a strong Newport team. The members of that Killadangan team were:

Michael Bouchier (Annagh), Tom, Peter and Chris McCarthy (Loughourna), Dany and Johnny Foley (Knigh), Jack Ryan "Spud" (Puckane),Ger Hogan (Bunnadober), Ger and Chris Cleary (Killadangan), Denis Flannery (Glown), Ralph Loughnane (Drummin), Paddy Minehan (Knigh), Gar Grace (Knigh), Billy Collins " Hush " (Urra), John and Maurice Corboy (Parkboy)



Back
Back.Button7.gif

www.kildangan.netlogo1b.jpg

Next
Next.Button8.gif

blue-and-gold-break.bev.460.gif
Cill An Daingin Abu
tiobraid-arann-abu-logo.gif
Last Updated

All images and content are copyright.

ęseanfay2009