Make your own free website on

Year of Triumph - 1971

Chapter 19

The parish was back in the intermediate final in 1968 but was trounced by Shannon Rovers in a replay. Kildangan again reached the decider two years later but fell to Burgess. The tide of fortune turned in 1971 and the club won both North and County honours. They defeated Shannon Rovers in the North final and became the first holders of the Fr Hewitt Cup, presented in his memory by his parishioners of the Kilruane MacDonaghs club. In the county final at Thurles in December Kelly's men defeated Boherlahan-Dualla by 3-4 to 1-4 in what the Nenagh Guardian described as "a disappointing game". The newspaper singled out Noel Seymour as " the outstanding man on the Kildangan team " and remarked that he " more than any other contributed to their first historic county title ".

1971 was a marvellous year for Seamus Hogan of Dromineer. He was successful with Kildangan and also played at centre field on the Tipperary senior team that won the Munster and All Ireland championship. Tipperary defeated Limerick in the Munster decider and Kilkenny in a high scoring All Ireland final. Seamus had made his inter county debut in March 1969 when he came on at centre back as a sub in a League game against Laois and gave what the Nenagh Guardian described as " a highly promising performance ". Seamus was also on the Tipperary team beaten by Cork in the Munster final of that year. In 1970 the Dromineer man declared for Galway, where he was then teaching, and played on the team that went down to Wexford in the All-Ireland semi final. Seamus returned to Tipperary the following season and was a regular on the team until his last championship match against Clare in 1977 and the victorious All Ireland final of 1971.

There were eight Kildangan players on the Tipperary team that won Munster and All Ireland intermediate honours in 1972. The late Denis Flannery of Ballycraggan was one of the selectors. Paddy Kelly at right corner back captained the side to victory over Kerry in the Munster final at Emly. But an injury forced him out of the starting fifteen for the rest of the campaign. Jim Egan captained the team in the semi final triumph over Dublin. Noel Seymour, Nicky Flannery, Willie Moloney, and John Darcy all played in the Munster final, but the latter three were injured for the All Ireland decider. Team captain Noel Seymour, ably assisted by club mates Terry Moloney and Ollie Killeen led Tipperary to a decisive win over Galway in the All Ireland final at Birr. It was the only occasion on which a victorious Tipperary team was captained by a Kildangan player.

County Champions, 1971:

Seamus Hayes (Kildangan), Christy Hayes (Cloghprior), Paddy and John Kelly (Kildangan), Rody O'Meara (Rockview), William, Christy and Terry Moloney (Crannagh), Noel Seymour (Loughourna), Seamus Hogan (Dromineer), Donal Lyne (Frolic), Nicky Flannery (Urra), John Darcy (Grange), Martin and Billy Healy (Knigh), Ollie and John Killeen (Monsea), Jim Egan (Puckaun), Jimmy and Sean Foley (Ballyhogan), Seamus Hogan (Urra), Pat Gleeson (Johnstown), Rody McCarthy (Ballyanny).

Paddy Kelly recieves Cup

Seamus Hogan

Kildangan Intermediate Champions 1971

Back (l to r) Rev. Ml o'Donoghue CC, Tomas Moloney (supporter), Jim Egan, Jimmy Seymour, Sean Foley, William Moloney, Johnnie Kileen, Noel Seymour, John Kelly, Ollie Kileen, Christy Moloney, Christy Hayes, Noel Gleeson(supporter), John Darcy, Joe Ryan(supporter), denis Flannery.
Front (l to r) Martin Healy, Billy Healy, Terry Moloney, Seamus Hayes, Paddy Kelly, Nicky Flannery, Jimmy Foley, Donal Lyne, Rody O'Meara, Seamus Hogan, Pat Gleeson.
(Players Absent) : Seamus Hogan, Rody MacCarthy
Photo Courtesy Seamus Hogan Monsea




Cill An Daingin Abu
Last Updated

All images and content are copyright.