Make your own free website on

Kildangan - Kilbarron 1934

Chapter 11

Only four clubs contested the senior championship in 1934, which in a sense diminished Kildangan-Kilbarrons achievement in winning it. The Board decided to run off the competition on a league basis. Kildangan-Kilbarrron met Portroe at the Brick Park, Ballycraggan, on Sunday 20 May and won by a goal. The absence of Garrett Howard, playing for his native Limerick in London that day, dented the Portroe challenge. The next match against Toomevara at Portroe on 3 June yielded victory by 2-3 to 0-5. The crunch game was against Roscrea at Nenagh on 15 July and the Shannonsiders needed at least a draw to take the title. They were trailing anxiously with time ebbing away when Danny Gleeson crashed home a great goal to give them their first North Tipperary senior championship. The county championship was now the target and a fine win over Moyglass, near Fethard, in the semi-final at Thurles augured well for victory. Further triumph came Kildangan-Kilbarron's way when they defeated Roscrea by 6-4 to 4-2 in the final of the GAA Golden Jubilee Competition at the Showgrounds, Nenagh. However, both tradition and experience were against a Kildangan-Kilbarron victory in the county decider: North clubs had won only ten of the forty titles contested since the foundation of the GAA, and opponents. Mid champions Moycarkey, were a more experienced side seeking their third consecutive title. The final at Thurles in October 1934 was a keenly fought but not spectacular game. Moycarkey ran out comfortable winners by 3-6 to 2-3. Territorially lack of penetrative effort of the forwards and weak finishing lost some golden chances remarked the Nenagh Guardian of 13 October 1934. Kennedy was closely watched as the known marksman, but he did manage to score 1-2. Dinny Costelloe got the other goal and Danny Gleeson the point. The north challengers best players in the final were Jim Killeen, the Gleeson brothers, Mick Hanrahan and Jack Hoctor, Mickey Hogan, Dinny Costelloe, Jack Mackey and Pat Cahalan in goals also performed well on the day.

Kildangan-Kilbarron, 1934:

Pat Cahalan (Brocka), Martin Moran (Coolbawn), Jack Hoctor (Lisduff), Capt. Jack O'Grady (Ballyalla), Mick Hanrahan (Monsea), Jack Mackey (Terryglass), Mick Quirke (Kilbarron, later Frolic), Jim Killeen (Monsea), Bill Hayes (Loughourna), Paddy Hogan (Urra), Maurice Corboy (Parkboy), Martin Kennedy (Castlesheela), Danny Gleeson (Kildangan), Joe Cleary (Kildangan), Dinny Dwan (Carney), Mickey Hogan (Macloon), Jack Kelly (Puckaun).




Cill An Daingin Abu
Last Updated

All images and content are copyright.